Arizona Cardinals


The Cardinals franchise was established in Chicago as the Morgan Athletic Club in 1898 and joined the NFL as a charter team in 1920.

While based in Chicago, the Cardinals won their only two NFL Championships in 1925 and 1947.

After 40 seasons in Chicago, the club moved to St. Louis in 1960.

The St. Louis Cardinals were serious championship contenders in the 1970s, winning the NFC Eastern Division Championship in 1974 and 1975.

In 1988, the Cardinals moved once again — this time to Phoenix. The club was known as the “Phoenix Cardinals” from 1988-93, when they became the Arizona Cardinals.

In 2009, the Cardinals reached Super Bowl XLIII, but lost to the Pittsburgh Steelers on a touchdown pass from Ben Roethlisberger to Santonio Holmes with :35 remaining.

Showing the single result