Detroit Lions


The Detroit franchise started as the Portsmouth (Ohio) Spartans in 1930.

Detroit radio executive George A. Richards purchased the Spartans in 1934 and moved them to Detroit where they were renamed the Lions.

During the franchise’s second year in Detroit, the Lions won the 1935 NFL Championship when they defeated the New York Giants, 26-7.

During the 1950s, the Lions won three league championships, all against the Cleveland Browns, in 1952, 1953, and 1957.

Showing all 2 results