Los Angeles Chargers


The Chargers were founded by Barron Hilton in Los Angeles in 1959. Due to competition from the Los Angeles Rams, the team moved 120 miles south to San Diego in 1961.

As part of the AFL, the Chargers enjoyed high-scoring years from 1961 to 1965, winning four AFL West titles and one AFL championship along the way.

After 1965, the Chargers did not win another championship until 1979. When coach Don Coryell took over in 1978, the Chargers went on to win the AFC West division in 1979, 1980, and 1981 and made two AFC Championships.

In 2016, the Chargers announced that they were moving back to Los Angeles for the 2017 season after 56 years in San Diego.

Showing all 4 results