New England Patriots


Founded in 1959 as the “Boston Patriots,” the team was an original member of the American Football League (AFL).

The Patriots joined the NFL during the 1970 AFL/NFL merger. They changed their name to the
New England Patriots when they moved to Foxborough, MA. in 1971.

Current owner Robert Kraft bought the team in 1994 and hired future Pro Football Hall of Fame head coach Bill Parcells, who led the team to Super Bowl XXXI, where they lost to the Green Bay Packers, 35-21.

In 2001, the Patriots’ fortunes changed forever when quarterback Drew Bledsoe was injured and 2000 sixth-round draft pick and backup quarterback Tom Brady stepped in and led them to victory in Super Bowl XXXVI.

From 2001-18, Belichick and Brady led the Patriots to a dominant run, winning six Super Bowls in nine appearances.

Showing all 6 results