San Francisco 49ers


The San Francisco 49ers began playing in 1946 as charter members of the All-America Football Conference. The AAFC merged with the NFL in 1950 and the 49ers became the 10th-oldest franchise in the NFL.

In 1977, Edward J. DeBartolo Jr. became the new team owner and hired coach Bill Walsh. Within three years, the 49ers won their first Super Bowl in 1982 when they defeated the Bengals, 26-21.

With Hall of Fame quarterback Joe Montana, the 49ers won three more Super Bowls, bringing their total to four by 1990.

In 2019, under head coach Kyle Shanahan, the 49ers went back to the playoffs for the first time since 2013 and advanced to the 2020 Super Bowl where they were defeated by Patrick Mahomes’ Kansas City Chiefs, 31-20.

Showing all 4 results