Tennessee Titans


The franchise was originally founded by Bud Adams as the Houston Oilers and began playing in 1960 as part of the AFL. It won two AFL championships in 1960 and 1961.

The Oilers made consecutive playoff appearances from 1978-80 and from 1987-93.

The team relocated from Houston to Tennessee in 1997 and played as the Tennessee Oilers for two years before the team changed its name to the Titans before the 1999 season.

Since its inception in 1999, the Titans have played in one Super Bowl, but were defeated by the St. Louis Rams, 23-16, in 2000.

Led by quarterback Steve McNair and running back Eddie George, the Titans made the playoffs in all but one season from 1999-2003.

From 2016-20, the Titans recorded five consecutive winning seasons, the most since it was known as the Houston Oilers.

Showing the single result